askDandiee….

Straight advice on life's curve balls.

Who inspires you to be a better you? January 10, 2014

Filed under: Plinky questions — Snotty Mommy @ 6:36 am
Tags: , ,

family

I had the privilege of being loved by two of the greatest people I have ever known. My Grandparents were such wonderful people, they loved me enough to last a lifetime. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of them for one reason or another. Even after their lifetime, they still inspire me.

My Grandfather was an incredibly giving man, always willing to help someone, even if he didn’t know them. I learned so many valuable things from him, it’s difficult to name them all. I remember spending hours after school tinkering around in his workshop or the garage, learning invaluable things like routine car maintenance and repairing household items, or building fun little inventions to play with. On rainy days I would play dress up or make believe in his Army uniform, feeling so proud that my Grandpa was once an Army Officer and an airplane pilot. I came to have great respect for our servicemen as he told me stories before bed of how he flew B-52 Bomber planes in the war and tales of his Army adventures. Grandpa always encouraged me to use my imagination and ingenuity and to never, never give up…’There’s always a way’ he would tell me, it was just a matter of thinking things through and finding the answers. He prepared me for life by teaching me things like how to paint a house, replace a blown breaker, and mowing the lawn…and it was always fun, things never felt like chores with Grandpa. There was always a smile on his face, an encouraging word or hug and best of all, that look of pride he got when I learned something new or surprised him with a job well done. My Grandparents made my childhood an adventure of learning, love, and laughter. During the summer, He and my Grandma would take me camping, and we explored so many fun and interesting places together. I made wonderful friends everywhere we went, and acquired a few pen-pals along the way. I learned to make a fire, cut wood, fish, set up a tent, identify all kinds of plants and animals and so many other fun things on our trips. On warm spring days Grandpa and I would plant flowers, build birdhouses for the backyard, and go around to help the neighbors with everything like mowing lawns, building wheelchair ramps and treehouses, feeding the birds in the neighbor’s ‘birdhouse garden’ and even delivering groceries for some of our elderly neighbors. Grandpa always told me that ‘It’s better to get involved than to be a wallflower’ and that ‘It’s better to be smart than to be pretty’…Even though he told me I was beautiful every day. Grandpa was always inspiring and encouraging me to learn all I could and do my best in all I put my mind to, but especially in school. Even if it came with a little bribery to urge me to do better in subjects I was struggling in every once in a while. I spent my childhood watching my Grandpa help everyone he possibly could. He fixed what was broken, brightened what was dull, had a personal goal of making at least one person smile every day, and even helped those who were in financial crisis. I hope that in my own small way that my actions reflect what he showed me growing up. I try my best to help others if I can, find them help through another avenue if I can’t, and I still spend nights before I drift off to sleep imagining and creating things in my head, storing ideas to use for later.

Grandma was the one who taught me all about how to cook, and clean up the house, sew, crochet, wrap gifts and write thank-you notes…All those little things that make a house a home, and the people in it feel warm and welcome. I had so much fun learning to make ‘White Mice’ cookies and homemade doughnuts with her. Grandma showed me how to properly set a table, decorate the house for holidays and other little things like proper phone etiquette and message taking. She and Grandpa made the perfect pair, he was all things ‘Mr. Fix-it’, outdoorsy and mechanical and she was soft, gentle, patient and always kind. She knew how to throw the perfect dinner party, and was always busy in the kitchen cooking something yummy. I remember sitting beside her learning to play the piano and singing hymns or Christmas carols. She always let me help her decorate the Christmas tree and somehow it always turned out perfect just like out of a store window. Grandma taught me all those little things that keep a house running. I learned how to shop for groceries, compare prices and values, wash the laundry and hang it to dry (in the summer), plan for meals, wash dishes and she even taught me how to dust. Every time I’m in the kitchen cooking or scrubbing the cabinets free of little dirty fingerprints I think of her. I learned how to be a mom from Grandma. She showed me patience in everything we did. She was always compassionate and soft-spoken. Even when I got into trouble, she never raised her voice at me and neither did Grandpa. We would talk and I would sometimes be grounded from playing with the neighbor kids, however that was rare. Grandma always had a way of talking and making things easy to understand. The rules were simple and never changed so it wasn’t hard to remember. I have tried very hard to carry these things that Grandma showed me over the years to my children and how I parent. I know that I don’t even come close to how she was when I was little, but I really try. Patience, unconditional love, tons of affection, and an open mind are just a few of the things that I’ve learned are a good start to being a parent, friend and spouse. Grandma did an amazing job showing me with all these things and so much more as a child. I hope that she’s proud of the adult I’ve become and strive to be.

My Grandparents have been such a wonderful example to me, loved me so well that I can still feel it today and have inspired me to do my best to be my best and treat other with respect, compassion, love and lend a hand wherever I can. Thank you so much Grandma and Grandpa, I love and miss you and all our adventures dearly.

Grandmas house

Powered by Plinky

 

One Response to “Who inspires you to be a better you?”

  1. […] Please read, Who inspires you to be a better you? […]


Leave a comment